Keep Lee County Beautiful Art Contest Winners Announced

CONTACT Trish Fancher
Tel: 239-334-3488
Web site:

Keep Lee County Beautiful Art Contest Winners Announced

[Fort Myers, FL] (May 9, 2019) Keep Lee County Beautiful, Inc. (KLCB) is pleased to announce the winners in the 30th annual “Leave The Scene Clean” Calendar Art Contest. The contest drew over a thousand entries from local students, representing public, private, and home schools in Lee County. Submitted work was judged on artistic execution and originality as well as environmental theme, such as litter prevention, recycling, community cleanup and protecting the environment.

The 12 First Place selections, one from each grade 1 through 12, in addition to the cover winner, are featured in KLCB’s full color 2020 “Leave The Scene Clean” Calendar. Also selected were Honorable Mentions in each grade. KLCB will host an awards ceremony at the Broadwav Palm Theatre this fall with a 6:30 PM reception and the awards ceremony starting at 7:00 PM (the event is free and open to the public) at which time the artwork will be exhibited, the calendar will be released, and the winners will receive their awards. Each of the 12 First Place winners will receive $50, except the 12th grade and cover winners who will receive a $500 cash scholarship courtesy of Covanta Energy!

Each calendar month contains a different student work of art. The back cover will feature an environmental message by Estero High School student Chrisdeana Schneider, the cover winner.

These popular full color calendars can be had for a $3 donation each and are available through participating Lee County Schools, who retain all proceeds collected with the funds being used to pay for environmental projects at the participating school.

The calendar project is made possible through corporate sponsorships. Sponsors for the 2020 calendar include Covanta Energy, Miromar Outlets, Advanced Disposal, LCEC, Lee County Solid Waste, Waste Pro and Waste Management. We are still looking for a sponsor. Please call 239-334-3488 for more details on how you can become a sponsor!

KLCB is a private non-profit organization dedicated to educational litter prevention programs and responsible solid waste management. Proceeds from the sale of the environmental calendars benefit KLCB programs and participating schools. For more information about this and other KLCB educational programs call 239-334-3488.

Cover Winner – Chrisdeana Schneider – Estero High School
The twelve First Place Winners and their schools are:
Grade 1 – Evan Humble – Bayshore Elementary
Grade 2 – Leila Tucker – St. Francis Xavier
Grade 3 – Mariia Matiushyna – Harns Marsh Elementary
Grade 4 – Kayla Rathur – St. Francis Xavier
Grade 5 – Nishini Fernando – Allen Park Elementary
Grade 6 – Jonathan Goodman – Lexington Middle
Grade 7 – Amneris Azcona – Gateway Intermediate
Grade 8 – Abigail Petro – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
Grade 9 – Kaitlyn Logue – Cypress Lake High School
Grade 10 – Emma Roth – Estero High School
Grade 11 – Kimberly Sarabia – Estero High School
Grade 12 – Brianna Johnson – Cypress Lake High School

The Honorable Mention winners and their schools are:
Grade 1 Estella Eichten – St. Francis Xavier
Aubriana Adolph – Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Haven Gates – St. Francis Xavier

Grade 2 Hallie Hunt – Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Payten Hunt – Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Ani McAuley – Christa McAuliffe Elementary

Grade 3 Anabelle Mateu – Harns Marsh Elementary
Natalie Vo – Christa McAuliffe Elementary
Annalise Pray – Christa McAuliffe Elementary

Grade 4 Thiago Lucero – Lehigh Elementary
Jami Atyeo – Hector A. Cafferata Elementary
Brianna Romano – Christa McAuliffe Elementary

Grade 5 Ashlyn Mustard – Gulf Elementary
Amelie Seulft – Lehigh Elementary
Alissa Figueiredo – St. Francis Xavier

Grade 6 Joshua Yue – Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle
Lauren Lyons – St. Francis Xavier
Sarah Meyers – Cypress Lake Middle

Grade 7 Erika Perez – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
Zachary Yoshida – Cypress Lake Middle
Ashlynn Ban – St. Francis Xavier

Grade 8 Mary Perez – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts
Allysen Corporan – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts Sydney Wydra – Gulf Middle

Grade 9 Heloysa Lopes – North Fort Myers High School
Heidi Hernandez – Cypress Lake High School
Emma Gillen – Estero High School

Grade 10 Emerson Gibbs – Oasis High School
Christopher Hultgren – Cypress Lake High School
Chloe Lange – North Fort Myers High School

Grade 11 Bella DeMay – Cypress Lake High School
Ashley Ortiz – Dunbar High School
Bethllenix Angel Zubieta – East Lee County High School

Grade 12 Zita Baten-Hernandez – Dunbar High School
Merari Salinas – Cypress Lake High School
Caleb Drum – Oasis High School


KLCB is a private/non-profit organization with 501 (c)(3) status, Fed. Tax I.D. #59-2977558.
This article was submitted by a Guest Author of the Above Board Chamber.