Rotary Club of Fort Myers South to honor 36 Nominees at the 30th Annual Scholar-Athlete Awards

Rotary Club of Fort Myers South will honor 36 nominees and announce the scholarship recipients and other award winners at its Scholar-Athlete Awards banquet from 7 to 9 p.m. May 11, 2016 at the Crowne Plaza in Fort Myers. The scholarship program recognizes top athletes from area high schools based on athletic and academic achievement, along with strength of character.
Former NFL running back Albert Bentley will deliver the keynote address. Bentley is a native of Naples and attended the University of Miami where he played for the Hurricanes national championship team in 1983.  Bentley also played eight seasons in the NFL for the Indianapolis Colts and Pittsburgh Steelers.  Bentley currently lives in Immokalee.
The Southwest Florida Rheem Team will underwrite two $5,000 scholarships as the program’s Title Scholarship Sponsor. In addition to sponsoring the scholarships, the Rheem Team hosts an online People’s Choice Scholar-Athlete Award, where the winner receives an iPad.
Eighteen Lee County-area high schools each nominated one top male and female varsity letter winner who maintains a minimum 3.2 GPA, is involved in school and community activities and demonstrates leadership characteristics. A selection committee of Rotary South members interviews nominees and selects the winners.
The 36 nominees are: Richard Maribona and Hallianne Hobson from Bishop Verot Catholic High School, Stephen Hueniken and Caroline Flaharty from Canterbury School, Christon Lewis and Makenzie Buss from Cape Coral High School, Paul Cribbs and Lexi Hoerr from Cypress Lake High School, Zachary Lackman and Nahisa Alabre from Dunbar High School, Dustin Goodman and Sharonda Exius from East Lee County High School, Joshua Winckowski and Taylor Hatch from Estero High School, Henry Valentine and Kylee Rullo from Evangelical Christian School, Landon Weber and Kendall Brent from Fort Myers High School, Jonathan Stockhausen and Kayla Scott from Gateway Charter, Jordan Diggs and Syniah S. Clark from Ida S. Baker High School, Miguel Vidal and Kayla Davidson from Island Coast High School, Matthew Williams and Amara Ezenwa from Lehigh Senior High School, Keaton Koselke and Alexis Restrepo from Mariner High School, Austin Knipper and Madison Lampkins from North Fort Myers High School, Daniel Williamson and Elizabeth White from Riverdale High School, Jordari Rene and McKenzie Owens from South Fort Myers High School, Justin Vazquez and Ally Frith from Southwest Florida Christian Academy.
For more information about the 29th Annual Rotary Club of Fort Myers South’s Scholar-Athlete Awards, contact Rob Scharlau at (239) 810-2554 or      
Rotary Club of Fort Myers South
Rotary Club of Fort Myers South has more than 130 members who are among the 1.3 million Rotarians worldwide. Service Above Self is the motto of Rotary International, which has contributed more than $1.2 billion and tens of thousands of volunteer hours toward polio eradication in addition to projects such as water quality, world peace and literacy. Meetings are held each Monday at 12:00 PM at the Crowne Plaza, 13051 Bell Tower Drive. For more information, visit
This article was submitted by a Guest Author of the Above Board Chamber.