“Officer of the Year” Finalists Announced for Law and Order Ball

Rotary Club of Fort Myers South is proud to announce that the finalists for “Officer of the Year” have been chosen and they, along with all the outstanding nominees from seven local law enforcement agencies, will be recognized and honored at the inaugural Law and Order Ball, October 10 at 6 p.m. at Harborside Event Center in downtown Fort Myers. Tickets are now on sale for this black tie-optional gala event.

In a blind judging process wherein the identity and department of each nominee was not revealed, judges from the Rotary Club of Fort Myers South Foundation selected the following finalists, all from Fort Myers Police Department: Officer Yvetta Dominique, Officer Bryan Fuller, Detective Richard Meeks, Officer Christopher Scavo and Officer Robert Vega. The “Officer of the Year” will receive a custom designed piece created by Rotarian Mark Loren of Mark Loren Designs.

The foundation chose well rounded law enforcement officers who have exceeded the duty requirements expected of his or her position, demonstrated a commitment to exceptional service and achieved outstanding professional accomplishments. Consideration was given for acts of valor. Each and every officer is a “hero” in the eyes of the community.

Nominations for “Officer of the Year” were provided by the following agencies based on professional achievements, dedication to duty, acts of valor, selflessness, exemplary performance in community policing and other criteria: Cape Coral Police Department, Florida Gulf Coast University Police, Florida SouthWestern State College Police, Fort Myers Police Department, Lee County Port Authority Police, Lee County Sheriff’s Office and Sanibel Police Department.
Rotary Club of Fort Myers South Foundation established the Law and Order Ball to recognize and celebrate public safety’s finest officers who proudly represent our local law enforcement agencies. It is the foundation’s belief that selecting an “Officer of the Year” from the agency submissions serves to promote public trust and support for the officers and the law enforcement agencies involved. The foundation extends its heartfelt congratulations to all the outstanding nominees.
Order tickets now for the Law and Order ball at lawandorderball.org/event/tickets. The evening will feature cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, a sumptuous dinner, and a silent and live auction. Entertainment will be provided by the popular local band Alter Ego, featuring retired Assistant U.S. Attorney Doug Molloy.
Sponsors include Creighton Commercial Development/Ada’s Natural Market – Title Sponsor, Florida Weekly, Sam Galloway Ford, Coconut Point Ford, Galloway Direct, Sam Galloway Lincoln; the News-Press Media Group, The Eventful Company, Survival Armor, LeeSar, Armor Correctional Health Services, Mark Loren Designs, Bireley Family Fund, Times of the Islands Media Inc., Harborside Event Center, CONRIC PR & Marketing | Publishing, Kagan Law Firm, Tween Waters Inn, Edison National Bank, Suncoast Beverages & Sales, Fuccillo Kia, Palm Printing, HBKS Wealth Advisors, Morgan and Morgan and Southern Wine and Spirits.

Major sponsors will be honored at a special VIP reception starting at 5 p.m. All proceeds will benefit the Rotary Club of Fort Myers South Foundation and Lee County law enforcement youth programs.

For information about tickets, in-kind donations and sponsorship opportunities, visit www.lawandorderball.org or contact Lori Cook North at lori@eventfulinc.com or Pam Morrison at pam@eventfulinc.com.

Rotary Club of Fort Myers South
Rotary Club of Fort Myers South has more than 130 members who are among the 1.3 million Rotarians worldwide. Service Above Self is the motto of Rotary International, which has contributed more than $1.2 billion and tens of thousands of volunteer hours toward polio eradication in addition to projects such as water quality, world peace and literacy. Meetings are held each Monday at 12:00 PM at the Crowne Plaza, 13051 Bell Tower Drive. For more information, visit www.rotarysouth.org.

This article was submitted by a Guest Author of the Above Board Chamber.